A New Beginning

Hello

It’s been a long time coming but I finally migrated my little Blogger blog over to it’s brand new home at WordPress!  I’m really liking the change (I hope you do too) and while it’s not completely finished, it’s ready enough to open up to you dear souls 🙂

And I’ve missed you all!

These last few weeks have been so full.  I’ve been working on a huge commission painting and alongside this there’s been some big life changes a-happening too.  There have been shifts and changes that came about unexpectedly – one of the biggies was that my literary agent called time on our contract.  I felt a deep disappointment as I read the letter she sent to me, but I’ve since come to the conclusion that where one door closes, another will open.

I was speaking to someone about this, about what had happened and they said:  Ah well, just one of those things.  No point being down about it.

But that was just the problem.  On top of a whole heap of other stuff that May chucked at me, that Letter happened and I did feel down about it.

You know, so many of us don’t get a chance to acknowledge how we feel about stuff.  We’re taught to ignore or bury our feelings, go to a quiet corner of the house and have them where nobody else can bear witness to them.  I really believe that in order to move through and on from a difficult situation that we have to sit with and acknowledge those feelings, no matter how hard.  Once we face them, they seemingly transform and disappear.

May has been a month of moving on, of relationships altering course.  Like huge ships we navigate our way across sometimes smooth, and sometimes stormy seas.  These last few weeks have brought many storms and despite feeling wearied by some of them, I also feel much stronger.

It is a huge relief, and a massive accomplishment to finally move my Blog here.  I’m looking forward to sharing lots of new things with you as well as familiar tales of yarn and art.  I also hope to grow this website into an online guide for living a creative life, full of resources, tools and kits for fulfilling your own creative dreams.

I hope you’ll join me for the journey.

J x

9 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. Welcome to wordpress 🙂 A fabulous new beginning Julia, and I agree … face those darned yucky feelings and they will melt away, leaving only lessons and strength in their wake. Wishing you many open doors and every success 🙂

  2. Hello lovely lady and well done for such a fab new home. I think we all know to find the positive in things but you do need to deal with the yukky bits first. well, I thinks so anyway! xx

  3. I have been checking in on you Julia and am glad to see you posting again. I love the clean lines of your new blog but loved the old one too! Wishing you well. x

  4. Hi Julia. I was beginning to wonder what on earth had happened to you as you were absent for so long. Totally forgot that you had said you were looking to move your bloggy home! I’m sorry that you’ve had such an appalling May but, as you say, as one door closes … I am sure you will be up and running at full speed in no time and I’m liking the first glimpses into your new blog home. Can’t wait to see this site unfurl. Debs xxx

Leave a Reply

